CIT bracket, schedule, and scores

The 2018 College Insider Tournament is here, for those of you who can’t stand to wait a few days for your postseason college basketball fix. Teams that didn’t make the NCAA Tournament nor the NIT still have something to prove and will do so intermittently over the next three weeks.


There is no actual bracket for the CIT, but subsequent games are determined at the conclusion of each round. There are 20 total teams, with four receiving byes into the second round — Wofford, Northern Colorado, Portland State and Sam Houston State.

One of those teams with a bye — Wofford — beat North Carolina in Chapel Hill in December.

All games of the CIT are played at home sites. There are no neutral-court games.


Five first-round games are named to honor former college basketball coaches — Hugh Durham, Lou Henson, Jim Phelan, Riley Wallace and John McLendon. In true CIT fashion, only four of the five classic matchups are set, with the Coach John McLendon Classic to be played on Wednesday, March 14.


Wofford Terriers (bye)
Northern Colorado Bears (bye)
Portland State Vikings (bye)
Sam Houston State Bearkats (bye)
Central Michigan Chippewas
Fort Wayne Mastodons
Abilene Christian Wildcats
Drake Bulldogs
North Carolina A&T Aggies
Liberty Flames
Hartford Hawks
San Diego Toreros
St. Francis (PA) Red Flash
Illinois-Chicago Flames
Niagara Purple Eagles
Eastern Michigan Eagles
Texas-San Antonio Roadrunners
Lamar Cardinals
Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks
Austin Peay Governors

Schedule & results

All times ET

First round

Monday, March 12
Hugh Durham Classic: Central Michigan at Fort Wayne, 12 p.m. (CBS Sports)
Lou Henson Classic: Abilene Christian at Drake, 2 p.m. (CBS Sports)
Jim Phelan Classic: North Carolina A&T at Liberty, 6 p.m. (CBS Sports)
Riley Wallace Classic: Hartford at San Diego, 10 p.m. (CBS Sports)

Wednesday, March 14
Saint Francis at Illinois-Chicago
Niagara at Eastern Michigan
Texas-San Antonio at Lamar

Thursday, March 15
Louisiana-Monroe at Austin Peay


TBD, March 22-25


Wednesday, March 28
Semifinal 1: 7 p.m. (CBS Sports)
Semifinal 2: 9 p.m. (CBS Sports)

Championship Game

Friday, March 30, 7 p.m. (CBS Sports) – All Posts